Meritorious Service Award

The Meritorious Service Award presented by the Life Members of the Local Government Association of Tasmania was introduced in 2011 to recognise exceptional service to Tasmanian Local Government and significant achievements by an elected member.

D Downie Meritorious 2018

The winner of the 2018 LGAT Life Members Meritorious Service Award is Mayor David Downie of Northern Midlands Council.

Mayor Downie has served on Northern Midlands Council since its inception in 1993 serving as Deputy Mayor from 2007 to2014 and as Mayor since 2014.

Presenting the Award, LGAT Life Member and Judge Sue Smith said "David is known as a sincere, hard-working councillor - a quiet achiever looking for results, not personal publicity"

The nomination described how Mayor Downie has utilised his exceptional consultative leadership and strategic thinking skills to ably lead Council , carrying to fruition a diversity of complex projects and overcoming an array of challenges faced by Council over the past three years".
"However Mayor Downie has not limited his involvement to Northern Midlands. In his role as TasWater Chief Owners Representative
he has actively participated in the oversight of the state's water and sewerage services"
"Mayor David Downie is a true example of leadership in Local Government and what all should aspire to and is a very worthy recipient of the Meritorious Service Award for 2018"

Previous winners include:

2017 - Mayor Peter Freshney, Latrobe Council

2016 - Mayor Steve Martin, Devonport City Council

2013 - Mayor Bertrand Cadart, Glamorgan Spring Bay Council
2012 - Mayor Tony Foster, Brighton Council
2011 - Clr Judy Bromfield, Derwent Valley Council

No awards were presented in 2014 and 2015.

For enquiries
, please contact LGAT on
(03) 6233 5966 or email