

15 June 2023

Attn: News Editors, Producers For publication immediately

## Media Release

## Mayor of Break O'Day Council, Mick Tucker, elected as LGAT President

The Local Government Association of Tasmania (LGAT) congratulates Mayor Mick Tucker on his election as LGAT President.

Mayor Tucker, who has been the Vice President since 2021, will commence his appointment after the LGAT Annual General Meeting on 30 June 2023. The election of Vice President will take place at that time.

Mayor Tucker said "I look forward to representing our sector and serving as LGAT President for the next two years."

"I have been passionately advocating for local government for many years and will continue to work closely with elected members from all corners of Tasmania", Mayor Tucker said.

Outgoing President, Mayor Christina Holmdahl, said "I congratulate Mayor Tucker on his appointment as President and know he will provide passionate leadership for the sector".

"It has been an honour serving as President of LGAT for the last two terms", she said.

LGAT CEO, Mr Dion Lester, thanked Mayor Holmdahl for her hard work and dedication since first being elected as President in 2019.

"Christina has been an outstanding President and our sector has benefited greatly from her years of experience", he said.

The election also resulted in the following members being selected to serve on the General Management Committee (GMC) for the next two years:

Northern Electoral District (population > 20,000)

**Councillor Danny Gibson (City of Launceston)** 

Northern Electoral District (population < 20,000)

**Mayor Mary Knowles (Northern Midlands Council)** 



North West and West Coast Electoral District (population > 20,000)

**Mayor Cheryl Fuller (Central Coast Council)** 

North West and West Coast Electoral District (population < 20,000)

**Mayor Mary Duniam (Waratah-Wynyard Council)** 

Southern Electoral District (population < 20,000)

**Mayor Paula Wriedt (Kingborough Council)** 

Southern Electoral District (population > 20,000)

Mayor Leigh Gray (Brighton Council)

Under the LGAT Rules, the Lord Mayor of Hobart has a position as of right on the General Management Committee. This position is currently filled by **Lord Mayor Anna Reynolds**.

LGAT CEO, Mr Dion Lester, looks forward to working with the incoming GMC and President.

"The sector is facing a challenging period juggling the proposed reform alongside ever increasing community demand for services and rising costs", he said.

"LGAT notes, with appreciation, the contribution of outgoing GMC members: Mayor Peter Freshney (Latrobe Council), Mayor Bec Thomas (Glenorchy Council) and Councillor Kelly Spaulding (Tasman Council). All have provided vital strategic leadership and support to LGAT and our sector", Mr Lester said.

**ENDS**