Local Government Association of Tasmania - Who We Are - LGAT
Member Login

Who We Are

The Local Government Association of Tasmania (LGAT) is the voice of Local Government to other governments, interested stakeholders and the wider community. LGAT works to protect the interests and rights of councils, to promote the efficient operation of Local Government and to foster strategic and beneficial relationships.

LGAT has been the peak body for Local Government in Tasmania for over 100 years (founded 1911) and is part of a national network of associations. It is funded by councils and other income earned through projects sponsored on behalf of Local Government, and a range of services and sponsorships. LGAT is an incorporated body under the Local Government Act 1993.

A General Management Committee (GMC) of eight members provides oversight to LGAT operations. The GMC is elected by LGAT member council representatives every two years. It comprises the popularly elected president, the Lord Mayor and six other members elected by regional groupings of councils. The vice president is elected by the GMC. 

The objectives of LGAT are to:

  •   promote the efficient administration and operation of Local Government in the State of Tasmania
  •   represent and protect the interests, rights and privileges of members of LGAT
  •   foster and promote relationships between Local Government in Tasmania and with the government of  Tasmania and the Commonwealth of Australia
  •   provide support services to members of LGAT.


For GMC member details and the LGAT secretariat, click here.

Association Rules amended 23 July 2014(128 kb)

Top of Page
Site Map|Copyright|Disclaimer|Privacy|CreditsPrint Page
GPO Box 1521, Hobart, Tasmania 7001 | 326 Macquarie Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000
Tel: 03 6233 5966 | Fax: 03 6233 5986 | Email: admin@lgat.tas.gov.au