Member Login

Who We Are

The Local Government Association of Tasmania (LGAT) is the voice of Local Government to other governments, interested stakeholders and the wider community. LGAT works to protect the interests and rights of councils, to promote the efficient operation of Local Government and to foster strategic and beneficial relationships.

LGAT has been the peak body for Local Government in Tasmania for over 100 years (founded 1911) and is part of a national network of associations. It is funded by councils and other income earned through projects sponsored on behalf of Local Government, and a range of services and sponsorships. LGAT is an incorporated body under the Local Government Act 1993.

A General Management Committee (GMC) of eight members provides oversight to LGAT operations. The GMC is elected by LGAT member council representatives every two years. It comprises the popularly elected president, the Lord Mayor and six other members elected by regional groupings of councils. The vice president is elected by the GMC. 

The objectives of LGAT are to:

  •   promote the efficient administration and operation of Local Government in the State of Tasmania
  •   represent and protect the interests, rights and privileges of members of LGAT
  •   foster and promote relationships between Local Government in Tasmania and with the government of  Tasmania and the Commonwealth of Australia
  •   provide support services to members of LGAT.

 
Association Rules amended 23 July 2014(128 kb)

 

General Management Committee

 

President
Mayor Doug Chipman
Southern Region
Clarence City Council
Phone 6245 8600

 

Mayor Christina Holmdahl
Northern Region
West Tamar Council
Phone: 6383 6350

Vice President
Mayor Daryl Quilliam
West – North West Region
Circular Head Council
Phone 6452 4800

 

 Mayor Daryl Quilliam - Circular Head Council

Mayor Jan Bonde
West – North West Region
Central Coast Council
Phone: 6429 8900

Mayor Jan Bonde - Central Coast Council

Lord Mayor Sue Hickey
City of Hobart
Phone: 6238 2711

 

 

Mayor Craig Perkins
Northern Region
Meander Valley Council
Phone: 6393 5300

 

 

 

   

 

 

 

 

Secretariat Contact details

Chief Executive Officer
Katrena Stephenson
(03) 6233 5973
Email: katrena.stephenson@lgat.tas.gov.au

Policy Director
Dion Lester
(03) 6233 5972
Email: dion.lester@lgat.tas.gov.au


Senior Policy Officer
Melanie Brown
(03) 6233 5961
Email: melanie.brown@lgat.tas.gov.au

Policy Consultant
Deborah Leisser
(03) 6233 5971
Email: deborah.leisser@lgat.tas.gov.au

Senior Policy Officer
Georgia Palmer
(03) 6233 5965
Email: georgia.palmer@lgat.tas.gov.au

Project Officer
Scott Blacklow
(03) 6233 5965
Email: scott.blacklow@lgat.tas.gov.au

Communications Manager
Stephanie Watson
(03) 6233 5119
Email: stephanie.watson@lgat.tas.gov.au

Executive Assistant
Christine Agostinelli
(03) 6233 5964
Email: christine.agostinelli@lgat.tas.gov.au

Administration Officer
Michelle Freeman
(03) 6233 5970
Email: michelle.freeman@lgat.tas.gov.au

Administration Officer
Fiona Madigan
(03) 6233 5960
Email: fiona.madigan@lgat.tas.gov.au

Top of Page
Site Map|Copyright|Disclaimer|Privacy|CreditsPrint Page
GPO Box 1521, Hobart, Tasmania 7001 | 326 Macquarie Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000
Tel: 03 6233 5966 | Fax: 03 6233 5986 | Email: admin@lgat.tas.gov.au
Navigation